Stefan Grabinsky
Stefan Grabinsky (Grabinsky) (Stefan Grabiński) - a Polish writer, one of the founders of Polish science fiction, best known for stories in the horror genre, in particular, from the collection…

Continue reading →

Stephen king
Stephen Edwin King was born in the fall of 1941 in the US state of Maine, in the city of Portland. The birth of a boy can be called a…

Continue reading →

Kir Bulychev
Kir Bulychev is the creator of popular works in the fantasy genre. Today, admirers of the venerable man of letters do not cease to be amazed at his perspicacity. Bulychev’s…

Continue reading →

Robert Silverberg

Robert Silverberg (born Robert Silverberg, born January 15, 1935, Brooklyn, New York, USA) is a prolific American author best known for his science fiction works, which received the Hugo and Nebula awards.

Silverberg, himself an insatiable reader since childhood, began to publish his stories in science fiction magazines very early. He graduated from Columbia University with a bachelor’s degree in English literature in 1956, but continued to write fiction. His first published novel was a children’s book, The Uprising on Alpha-S (1956), and the very next year he received his first Hugo Award as the “Best Novice Writer.” In the next four years, Silverberg, according to his own estimates, wrote a million words per year for various magazines. In 1959, the science fiction market crashed, and Silverberg directed his writing talent in other directions, from serious historical literature to light pornography.

In the mid-1960s, science fiction authors became increasingly literary ambitious. Frederick Paul, the then editor of three science fiction magazines, suggested Silverberg write for one of them. Thanks to this, Silverberg returned to science fiction, paying now more attention to the depth and social environment of the characters than it was before in his work, as well as adding elements of modernist literature, which he studied at the university.

The books that he wrote during this period were considered a quantum leap compared to his previous works. The first book of the “New Silverberg” is Open Skies, a collection of short stories published by Paul in the journal Galaxy. In the book, a new religion allows people to reach the stars. This was followed by the novel “Down to Earth”, perhaps the first postcolonial science fiction book in which the former terrestrial administration of the alien world returns to Earth after they gave freedom to an alien planet. Other popular works of that period: the novels “Reside again,” in which the identity of the dead could be transferred; “Peace from the inside”, a look at the overpopulated world of the future as well as “Dying from the Inside,” the story of a telepath whose gift is inevitably weakening.

In 1969, his Night Wings received the Hugo Award for Best Short Story. In 1970, he received the Nebula Award for the story Passengers, two in 1971 for the novel Time to Change and the story Good News from the Vatican. In 1975 and 1986, the Nebula Prize for the best story was given to him Born with the Dead and Pushing into Byzantium. In 1990, Silverberg received the Hugo Prize for his short story, “Becoming a Soldier,” and in 2004 the American Fantastic Association named him the Grand Master. In 1970, he was an honored guest at the World Congress of Science Fiction (Mirkone).

In 1975, Silverberg moved away from science fiction, motivating it with fatigue after years of hard and fruitful work. But in 1980, he returned with his novel “The Castle of Lord Valentine” (The World of Majipur). The author continues to write science fiction novels to this day, while living in Auckland, California. In terms of the total number of works written by him among science fiction writers, he is second only to Isaac Asimov, having written more than 100 science fiction and more than 60 popular science books.

Bibliography (incomplete)


Revolt on Alpha C (1955)
Search for the Starship / Starman’s Quest (1956)
“The master of life and death” / Master of Life and Death (1957)
Invasion from Earth (1958)
Aliens from Space (1958)
Passion Trap (1960)
“The Lady of Sin” / Mistress of Sin (1960)
“Sinners” / The Sinful Ones (1961)
“The Slutty Goddess” / Lust Goddess (1961)
Collision Course (1961)
Time of the Great Freeze (1963)
The Silent Invaders (1963)
“Planet of Death” / Planet of Death (1967)
“Thorns” / Thorns (1967)
Those Who Watch (1967)
“Jumpers in Time” / The Time Hoppers (1967)
“Open Sky” / To Open the Sky (1967)
“Those who lust” / Those Who Lust (1967)
The Wanton West (1967)
“World’s Fair 1992” / World’s Fair 1992 (1968)
“The Man in the Maze” / The Man in the Maze (1968)
“Masks of time” / The Masks of Time (1968)
Downward to the Earth (1969)
“Through the Billion Years” / Across a Billion Years (1969)
“Night Wings” / Nightwings (1969)
Three Survived (1969)
To Live Again (1969)
Up the Line (1969)
Hawksbill Station (1970)
“Glass Tower” / Tower of Glass (1970)
“Son of man” / Son of Man (1971)
The Second Trip (1971)
“The World Inside” / The World Inside (1971)
A Time of Changes (1971)
The Book of Skulls (1972)
“Dying Inside” / Dying Inside (1972)
The Flesh Merchants (1973)
Sin on Wheels / Sin on Wheels (1973)
Jungle Street (1973)
“Collector of people” / The Man Collector (1973), etc.

Antiwar satire by science fiction writer Harry Harrison
Harry Harrison, best known as the author of the Steel Rat book series, has lived a long, fruitful life as a writer. From his pen came a lot of works,…


China Mieuville
China Mieuville (full name - China Tom Miéville) is a British science fiction writer who defines his genre as “weird fiction”. Born in 1972 in London in a family of…


Hard science fiction on fundamental topics from Clifford Simack
Clifford Simak is an American science fiction writer, one of the writers of the Golden Age, along with Asimov and Heinlein. Having started writing in the 30s, he released about…


Philip Dick, whose trilogies are full of aphorisms and quotes, is called the destroyer of reality in the reading world. The writer composed his stories and novels in a special…